Jim and the Beanstalk

For the past two of weeks I’ve been editing a video. It took me back to my university days; I did a degree in Film and TV production. It’s amazing now how you can do it all on a computer. It’s a video which I’m going to use to promote storytelling and Look Out! Theatre Company’s Story Time in schools. It accompanies the Story Time web page and includes the storytelling sessions I did at the local primary school  with the 2nd and 4th years and one of the library sessions. (Some clips are included on my last blog) If you are a teacher interested in using storytelling and a storyteller in the classroom please contact me for a copy; story@lookoutcompany.com

 

51wkxhps0zl__sl500_aa240_ 

 

At the school one of the stories I told to the 4th years was Jim and the Beanstalk by Raymond Briggs. This a fractured fairy tale and I think they are great to use with children that have knowledge of the traditional fairy tale but might think that the traditional one is too childish for them. In this session we first looked at the plot of Jack in the Beanstalk, so we could review vocabulary. I used questions like; who does Jack live with? Are they rich or poor? ect. The students were able to recall the information in both English and in their first language and I wrote key vocabulary on the board. I also introduced the vocabulary that the students would need for the comprehension for Jim before I told the story.

 

img_41551 

I’ve posted an edited version of the recording on Storytelling for Children web page. After the students helped measure each other, they told me their results in English and I wrote them on the board. As a round up I made some comparisons for example: Julie is the tallest in the class. Paul has the biggest head. etc. The British Council has got two great worksheets for this activity; Measure Me! and lots more activities related to Jack and the Beanstalk. Another follow up activity is to get students to compare and contrast the two stories: tradition and fractured. Here is a review of Jim and the Beanstalk and a list of some more fractured tales.

 

1201713711587

 

I also want to mention a web page from a Catalan children’s programme called una mà de contes which in English translates as a handful of stories. My son and I have been fans of the programme for a few years now and the web page was announced on a children’s news programme a few days ago. Take a look; I think it’s brilliant and a great storytelling resource. There are stories from all over the world, they use all different types of illustrations and you can put the stories into English. These last two photos are from the series. I’m back in the library next week so until then happy storytelling!

 

1201713248587

 

Leave a Reply

